Full of Emotion

Hi everyone! Sorry for the recent lack of posts – again. I know not many people look out for my posts and look forward to them, but I suppose if there were some people who were doing so… Well this apology is to them.

I’ve always loved Lomography and those photos taken with toy cameras. I don’t know much about them, but I like how the random, haphazardly added colors make it so full of emotion. I tried – and failed miserably! – replicating the effect with Paint.NET or GIMP, and realized that the effect wasn’t really good. I know there’s no rules, but I was after the toy camera effect, so I downloaded an application on my phone that gave those effects.

Here’s some of the photos I took. Tell me what you think! (If anyone’s reading this at all.)

(And a quick shout-out to my friend Sabrina who also does such photography. I envied her and she inspired me to pick up this fine art as well!)

My classmate, Kimmi, on the bus.

 

My other classmate, Shi Hui.

Rose at the interchange. As you can see, Shi Hui was the only one who was aware she was being photographed… I don’t know if that’s a good or bad thing. Anyway, I showed them the pictures and they didn’t complain in the end, so… Yeah. Nothing to add to that.

Dumpling massacre.

 

 

I have nothing to say about that last photo – surprising, considering how I can’t stop talking in my other posts.

Anyway, I was talking about how you can get so much emotion inundating your photos when using lomography and toy cameras, and the first one is a good example. If it was an ordinary photo, you’d think, “Oh, a girl with a ponytail looking out the window of a bus…” – ouch. Boring. But with the cool deep green and the dim, exaggerated shadows, there’s a sense of sadness. You imagine her being sad and lonely, like in TV shows when somebody is heartbroken and the overused scene of a character sitting in a bus looking solemnly out the window comes into play.

I suppose in a normal photo, you’d be able to see that too, if you were shown her facial expression. But then again, this is just the back of her head, so… The colors add that effect.

Of course, you can look at it differently and pick out other emotions besides sadness or depression. Tell me what you think in the comments! (I’m betting now that I won’t get a single comment, hehe…)

Sorry for another short post. I have to get back to my literature assignment, which is on my other blog. If you’re lazy like me, you can just click here. It’s fairly empty; I’m still doing it now, but I hope to have most of it done soon. After all, it’s due next Friday!

Enjoy! I hope the photos didn’t massacre your eyeballs, dear readers. And not because of Kimmi, Shi Hui or Rose, but because of my photography ‘skills’.

– Wesley M. Lincoln

4 thoughts on “Full of Emotion

Leave a Reply

