Origami Icosahedron

Origami Icosahedron
20 faces, 30 sheets of paper, 60 panels.

I made this origami icosahedron today – probably the most complex origami I ever have.

You can say that origami has been one of my best childhood friends. When I was in kindergarten, I was fascinated by the complex figures my mother made out of vividly colored paper, taking care in every fold she made.

I had to try it myself.

My memory of those times is rather blurry, but one of the few things I can remember very clearly is that I was folding my own origamis by the age of 5. Though my folds weren’t perfect and the corners never really met properly, I still enjoyed myself, because… I just like art a lot!

Over the past decade – or more – I have been trying new origami, exploring the internet for more diagrams and ideas when I had conquered the 12 origami books which nurtured my love of this elegant art while I was a toddler.

My interest in origami never really died out, but it did waver over time. Yesterday, however, I had an impulse – as you may have realized, I try new types of art on impulse many a time – to do modular origami.

I’d been aware of ┬ámodular origami for a few years now, but I never really tried it. I perceived making identical units and joining them into a sphere rather repetitive and boring, so I was never willing to learn it.

Though my craze for modular origami started just yesterday, this isn’t my first one. I have already made three so far. However, the other two I did before this weren’t really good (and to be honest, I enjoyed making this one more than the other two) so I chose to share this one instead.

Making each unit required about 12 steps each, and didn’t seem too difficult… At first. Making thirty of them turned out to be more tedious than I thought. To make things worse, I realized – too late – that I had made a mistake in 22 of 30 units! I had to redo it all!

During such moments, I sometimes literally forget that I’m doing art, because I get frustrated too easily in such situations, and I don’t enjoy myself. That alone contradicts the meaning of art. But despite this small struggle of mine, I managed to make it through.

Putting the units together was like a puzzle. Each time I put in the fifth unit, the first two would come apart, and I would restart, which happened at least seven times. However, I eventually managed to pull it all together. Seeing the pieces fit in neatly was extremely satisfying, after all the frustration I had been through.

I hope that even if practice doesn’t always make perfect, it at least brings improvement. My burning passion for this intricate type of origami won’t die out anytime soon – in fact, I’m currently working on another one; a cuboctahedron-shaped modular origami. It looks like a durian, but it’s really meant to be an ornamental origami.

The last thing I want to say is sorry if I repeated myself a lot in this post. I tend to repeat points (in different words) to elaborate. And, as I mentioned in the 25 Square Feet of Aluminium post, I often get long-winded.

That’s all for now, I guess.

– Wesley Lincoln

Leave a Reply

