Dark Feline

My mind was the recent rest-stop for the idea of writing a poem about a black cat. I intended its meaning to be quite obvious, but managed to hide it slightly, with metaphors and unclear phrases. However, the title combined with some simple deduction would make it easy to guess what this poem is about.

I wrote this in about two hours over two days. It’s considered slow, but I get distracted quite easily, and at times I also had to crack my skull to think of a word that rhymed with a certain other word.

I was attending a leadership training course on those two days (along with the other secondary two cohort) and took advantage of the frequent breaks to come up with this poem.

In other poems that I’ve written, I only looked at whether it rhymed. However, in this one, I put ten syllables in each line. Sometimes it was a challenge using all ten syllables, and other times I had difficulty fitting the whole line into the ten syllables. Regardless, it was satisfying as it doesn’t sound as awkward as the poems with an irregular number of syllables.

Before I bore you to death, here’s the poem!

Dark Feline

You think you own the night alone, do you not?
Shattered leaves obey your silent command,
Frozen in thought, your silent gaze has me caught,
Tries to move are stopped by your wailing demands

Golden eyes fade to crimson then swiftly back
Try not to play tricks on me, foolish feline,
You cannot push my sanity off its track
But if you do, I’ll get my revenge in time.

Velvet fur shimmering in the solemn dark,
Flicking your tail like an arrogant old fool,
Back curved in an impossible and painful arc,
Gentle steps as fragile as the night is cool

Why, dark figure, elegant and beautiful,
Do they speak of you as a disgusting curse?
I’m caught in a euphoria so wonderful,
When I meet you, in a trance I am immersed.

Spill what you hide in that look solemn as stone,
Tell me, dark feline, what lies you have spoken,
How, when and where will your true colors be shown?
Till you unveil them, I’ll remain ever broken.

Here’s an “analysis” of my poem – why I used certain words and the reasons I felt they were suitable.

Black Cat – Analysis

Verse 1

You think you own the night alone, do you not?
To “own the night alone” shows the cat’s “arrogance”.

Shattered leaves obey your silent command,
Shattered leaves” refer to the withered leaves of autumn, which also means that it’s cold, as if the cat brings coldness with it. The “silent command” is actually the wind, and I phrase it such that the cat owns it is because it “owns the night”.

Frozen in thought, your silent gaze has me caught,
Your gaze has me caught” shows how “I” am entranced by the cat’s beauty.

Tries to move are stopped by your wailing demands
Tries” refers to attempts, not the present continuous form of “try”. Every time “I” try to move, the cat stops me.

Verse 2

Golden eyes fade to crimson then swiftly back
The cat is sneaky, hence allowing it to act “swiftly”.

Try not to play tricks on me, foolish feline,
Do not try to trick me.

You cannot push my sanity off its track
You can’t hurt me. The track here refers to the track on which the train of thought travels. Hence, pushing “my sanity off its track” means driving me insane.

But if you do, I’ll get my revenge in time.
Adds to the “don’t you dare!” factor.

Verse 3

Velvet fur shimmering in the solemn dark,

Flicking your tail like an arrogant old fool,
The flicking of a cat’s tail, in my opinion, seems rather arrogant at times. I also portrayed the cat as arrogant, so I used this to add to that factor.

Back curved in an impossible and painful arc,
The cat’s flexibility seems almost impossible.

Gentle steps as fragile as the night is cool
Also suggests cold weather.

Verse 4

Why, dark figure, elegant and beautiful,

Do they speak of you as a disgusting curse?
Black cats are supposed to be an omen of bad luck, and in this situation, “I” do not see why, as it is beautiful.

I’m caught in a euphoria so wonderful,
This also shows why “I” do not feel that black cats are curses.

When I meet you, in a trance I am immersed.
The cat’s beauty entrances.

Verse 5

Spill what you hide in that look solemn as stone,
Stone is still and cold, hence solemn. A pokerface – emotionless and hence like ‘stone’ – usually is used to hide something. Hence, “I” am asking the cat to ‘spill’ its secrets.

Tell me, dark feline, what lies you have spoken,

How, when and where will your true colors be shown?
I wish to know how I can find out “your” secrets.

Till you unveil them, I’ll remain ever broken.
I really want to know your secrets!

Well, that’s all for now. After all, that was probably a seemingly-endless bore for most of you. But don’t worry, it isn’t endless – this is the end!

– Wesley Mark Lincoln

Leave a Reply

